Author Topic: What's The Biggest Mistake an Angler Can Make?  (Read 34660 times)

Offline thompsonny

What's The Biggest Mistake an Angler Can Make?
« on: February 13, 2009, 06:25:27 AM »
I'm new to the fishing scene - what is the biggest mistake that a fisherman can make?  any tips?

Offline IrishAyes

• Fishing At It's Finest
  • Admin
  • Super Hero Member
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2009, 07:32:11 AM »
Without giving it much thought, probably one of the biggest mistakes is giving up on a spot too soon. You may need to wait out a tide change for the bite to begin.

Not matching the hatch is probably the number two big mistake.

There are plenty of other little mistakes that are made but my opinion is the above are two the most importants ingredients to put together a catch.
Captain Joe of the Irish Ayes

May the holes in your net be no larger than the fish in it.  ~Irish Blessing

Offline ped579

• NJSF Field Reporter
  • Super Hero Member
  • Happiness is long casts, tight lines & bent rods
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2009, 08:15:44 AM »
I agree with Joe.  I think another is, especially if you frequent any of the boards it not listening to what people are saying about catching.  Don't be afraid to ask questions.  That is what this board is all about.  We are not here to ridicule but to teach and learn as well.

This is suppose to be a fun sport and relaxing don't get wrapped up into advanced equipment at first that will put you in the poor house.  Yes they will help out in many ways but the fish have no idea how expensive your gear is.

And lastly practice, practice, practice.

Don't give up...

Have fun...

Happy Catching

Paul
IN GOD WE TRUST

"Hypocrisy is not a fault these days - it is a lifestyle"

NJBBA: 4567

Ham Call; N2HYG Monitor RPT.  146.835

Offline Pfishingruven

• P-Man
  • Super Hero Member
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2009, 03:47:04 PM »