Author Topic: Whats Better? Cabelas/Bass Pro or local bait shop?  (Read 4549 times)

Offline TRSteve71

Whats Better? Cabelas/Bass Pro or local bait shop?
« on: June 17, 2009, 11:06:56 PM »
As you guys know I am just starting out and was wondering where would I be better off shopping at Cabelas or Bass pro OR at the local bait shops? I am basing this question on price alone, becuase I already know the knowledge can't be bought.

Thanks

Steve
#2000 t^

chrz

Offline ped579

• NJSF Field Reporter
  • Super Hero Member
  • Happiness is long casts, tight lines & bent rods
Re: Whats Better? Cabelas/Bass Pro or local bait shop?
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2009, 11:27:17 PM »
Basing everything on price isn't always always what it seems.  I have has dome very good deals at our local B&T's simply because I shop there rather than go to some of the Mega Sports stores.  Once the small mom and pop stores get to know you it is amazing how much you will save as they are not afraid to discount a lot of items you will pay full price for.  Plus don't for get the shipping.

Once Cabelas finishes its store in E. Rutherford and it opens you will not only be paying shipping but tax as well.  I know it has been put on hold but the grumblings it will start up soon.

So I am not a true fan of these huge stores, I guess it all boils down to is know your prices.  Shop around and go from there.  Steve if you want to get to know some of the shop owners in the area I will gladly take you over and introduce you to a couple of them in SSP.

Happy Catching

Paul
IN GOD WE TRUST

"Hypocrisy is not a fault these days - it is a lifestyle"

NJBBA: 4567

Ham Call; N2HYG Monitor RPT.  146.835

Offline TRSteve71

« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2009, 11:55:55 PM »
Thanks Paul. I will take you up on that once I am ready to go.

I was in Kmart last night with my GF buying a new coffee maker and I was in the fishing section, and found some good clearance deals on some hooks, Eagle claw and Matsua(sp).