Author Topic: brand newbian  (Read 6508 times)

Offline mcyc

• Full Member of the Den
brand newbian
« on: May 26, 2009, 04:56:19 PM »
Hey, im brand new to kayak fishing but im pumped to get into it.  Im looking for a kayak to go pole fishing as well as going spear fishing (free diving no tanks).  The guy at nj paddler recomended the ocean kayak scrambler 11.  Any input on my prospective purchase will be appreciated.  By the way im in point pleasant and mostly be fishing the squan river,barnaget bay, and an occasional ocean trip.  thanks again.

Offline Hotrod

• Administrator
  • Super Hero Member
  • The Phyllis Ann
    • NJ Outdoords Media
Re: brand newbian
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2009, 05:21:42 PM »
Welcome Aboard MC..  You came to the right place..  these guys LOVE talking YAK!

Please make yourself at home.. and there are no Stupid Questions.. t^

Offline Luna Sea 5

• Admin
  • Super Hero Member
  • Nick (Luna Sea 5)
    • My Facebook Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2009, 07:52:18 PM »
welcome
Fish out of Toms River NJ.
Call Nick for open boat, 973-417-5756, or on Channel 68.

Team Luna Sea 6

Offline ped579

• NJSF Field Reporter
  • Super Hero Member
  • Happiness is long casts, tight lines & bent rods
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2009, 11:11:51 PM »
Welcome Aboard mcyc,

I am still a newbie to the sport as well.  I have spent a lot of time researching different boats and their characteristics.  I have 2 new hips so I did not want to buy into something and not be able to use it later.  I went to a show this winter put on by NJ Paddler and was able to try out many boats they had on display.  I was drawn to the Hobie with the Mirage Drive but for me it was uncomfortable.  But for those that can handle it it is one of the best things since sliced bread.