Author Topic: Picking a spot?  (Read 23553 times)

Offline shadyvito

Picking a spot?
« on: February 11, 2007, 04:59:05 PM »
Since I'm new to all this I'll probably be asking some basic questions so please be patient.  The few times I've been surf fishing I went to specific spots that I was told.  One time I was walking down the beach and was wondering how to pick a spot on the beach to fish from.  I know to look for birds gathering and for fish "blitzing" in the water, but what about the mornings when you hit the beach and all is quiet?  How do you pick a spot?
PS - That's what that part of the alphabet would look like if there where no Q or R.

Offline catfish hunter

• Super Hero Member
Re: Picking a spot?
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2007, 06:19:47 PM »
look for cuts in the water or areas where the water is just a little deeper,If you can find structure your even better off.take a walk on the beach on a full moon at low tide you will learn alot about a spot

Offline technologist

« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2007, 07:09:51 PM »
Just do a search "reading the beach" you will get tons of info!

Offline shadyvito

« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2007, 08:09:33 PM »
Great idea, I found alot of great info.  All the examples that I saw I have seen on the beach but paid them no mind.
PS - That's what that part of the alphabet would look like if there where no Q or R.

Offline technologist

« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2007, 08:57:50 PM »
Great idea, I found alot of great info.  All the examples that I saw I have seen on the beach but paid them no mind.

Just remember, sometimes the fish will be in the wash, so always fish in close first and gradually
work your way out. 

Offline Capt. Ed

« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2007, 01:34:31 AM »
Hi shadyvito,

Welcome ...

Keep the questions coming.

Learning to read the beach takes a bit of time but once learned, it is invaluable.

I tend to drive the beaches at low tides to see more of the structure.