Author Topic: Knots to braid???  (Read 7841 times)

Offline ped579

• NJSF Field Reporter
  • Super Hero Member
  • Happiness is long casts, tight lines & bent rods
Knots to braid???
« on: June 17, 2007, 12:48:03 AM »
OK all you braid aficionados.  I will be going out to IBSP on Fathers Day. 

Happy Fathers Day to all you fathers and grandfathers out there.

I will be for the most part plugging, trying out new saltwater spinner baits by Boone, and throwing some metal.  How comfortable do you guys feel about tying braid directly to your lures.  I do with mono and have no problem except with line spin so I usually tie a swivel in line about 24" above the lure and use mono directly to the lure.  In other words line, swivel, 24" line tied to plug...

Any problem with that set up?  Like I said I am new to braid and the amount of knots worry me.  In this scenario there will be three.

Paul

IN GOD WE TRUST

"Hypocrisy is not a fault these days - it is a lifestyle"

NJBBA: 4567

Ham Call; N2HYG Monitor RPT.  146.835

Offline lefteye

• Full Member of the Den
Re: Knots to braid???
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2007, 07:09:38 AM »
Tie the swivel to the braid with a palomar knot. That knot works well with braid and is easy to tie. Then run the mono leader to the plug.
Good luck. 
Let us speak courteously, deal fairly, and keep ourselves armed and ready."
Theodore Roosevelt

Offline IrishAyes

• Fishing At It's Finest
  • Admin
  • Super Hero Member
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2007, 07:51:23 AM »
Like Lefteys said.  Palomar knot to attach the braid to a swivel.  Clinch knot the leader to the other side of the swivel.  Clinch knot to a snap at the end of the leader so you can change plugs/lures quickly.
Captain Joe of the Irish Ayes

May the holes in your net be no larger than the fish in it.  ~Irish Blessing

Offline Capt. Ed

« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2007, 09:35:03 AM »
Hi Paul,