Author Topic: Lefty needs advice  (Read 11491 times)

Offline lea_red

Lefty needs advice
« on: May 01, 2012, 08:22:06 AM »
Hi All,

I'm new to saltwater fishing and researching a rod/reel to purchase.  I'm a lefty so I've come across some limitations there.  I'm looking at the Avet MXL 5.8 MC reel (one of the only ones I found that has a true lefty set-up) and looking for a compatible rod that won't break the bank.  I want to get on some of the sponsor boats this year (live in northern NJ) for some striper.  clp 

Some rods I'm checking out are the Penn Carnage, Seeker rods, and some Shimano at the 6 1/2-7ft size, as light as possible (I don't want my arm to fall off just waiting for a fish).  Closer to the $100 range, the better.

Any advice/recommendations on a solid outfit would be much appreciated.

Tight Lines.

Offline Andys Delight

• Super Hero Member
Re: Lefty needs advice
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2012, 09:08:56 AM »
Hmmm, I'm lefty and would rather reel with my right hand so my stronger hand is holding the rod.  Avet makes a left handed crank model as you've mentioned, I know Penn does as well. 
The cure for everything is salt water: sweat, tears, and the sea.

Offline BigAl13

• Super Hero Member
  • Fish out of Keyport
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2012, 09:16:17 AM »
So does Abu
Its better to sit in a boat and think about God, than to sit in a church and think about fishing.

Offline Hunter 2

• RFA-NJ Member
  • Super Hero Member
  • 36' Topaz Express "Hallie Loren"
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2012, 09:32:52 AM »
Daiwa does too.  Rod selection depends on the species you want to target. Most anglers have at least 2 rods. One for inshore shallow water fishing and another with more backbone for deeper water 60' plus and requires more weight to hold bottom. If you can only buy one,, get the heavier rod because you can use it for everything but it has less feeling. I'm a big fan of the St.Croix Premier in 7' . It will cost you more though but has great customer service.