Author Topic: Conserving Florida's Outdoor Heritage  (Read 1571 times)

Offline harbison

• Super Hero Member
Conserving Florida's Outdoor Heritage
« on: August 30, 2019, 09:05:05 PM »
 slt  Conserving Florida's Outdoor Heritage

We who call Florida home have so much to be thankful for. Ever wonder why so many live or want to live in our Tropical Paradise?Florida is now the third most populous state, and the eighth most densely populated state, in the entire country, and for good reason.Our tropical weather is the envy of the entire nation, and the avid sportsman/woman can find woods/swamps loaded with game, and our fishing is some of the best in the world.December 8, 1941:Bob is born, born to hunt and fish. In the late forties my fishing career began fishing the far-off Tampa Bay Mangrove Snapper Banks, 1/2 mile off Port Tampa, in a boat just like this one.In 1961 I graduated from Jesuit High School and then the University of Tampa.By that time hunting and fishing had become a passion with me. In the early sixties I met Mr. Bobby Hicks, sports editor for the Tampa Tribune.We became good friends. Bobby was my mentor. He taught me the importance of 'Conserving Florida's Outdoor Heritage.' We wrote many columns together.I fished the waters of Tampa Bay and the close to shore Gulf until 1976 when I met a man who had become a legion in his own time, Captain Wilson Hubbard:Under the guidance of Captain Hubbard I was fishing the far off Florida Middle Grounds instead of the Port Tampa Snapper Banks. Captain Wilson's boat of choice was the Florida Fisherman l:In 2004 Captain Wilson's son, Captain Mark Hubbard, took over as President and General Manager.What an honor fishing with Captain Mark Hubbard on the Florida Fisherman ll:Hunting, as well as fishing, has always been a passion with me. In 1970 I married Thelma. This lady loved to hunt; she was very good at it. She harvested this beautiful deer in the high snow covered mountains of Maine:Together we hunted all over the