Author Topic: The best Florida wild boar hunting:  (Read 8545 times)

Offline harbison

• Super Hero Member
The best Florida wild boar hunting:
« on: August 15, 2011, 05:18:24 PM »

I have been hunting as far North as Maine, and as far West as New Mexico. However, I will take hog hunting in Florida over any type of hunting I have ever done. After tracking deer for hours in the snows of Maine, I thought no hunting could possibly be any better. Even shooting that big old elk cannot begin to compare with sitting in a blind and hearing hogs approaching your stand, it is incredible!
I have been hunting hogs for the last 21 years at Madison County, Florida's Buck & Boar hunting club. . The hunting, and camp sight is outstanding. This year, I decided to try Tiger Island Outfitters.
The differences:
Buck & Boar: is a private hunting club. You pay the lease fee, and then you are completely on your own. You scout the area, 10,000 + acres,  set up your corn feeders, blind, tree stand. If you keep your feeders throwing corn, and hunt your stand on a regular basis, you will shoot hogs. After shooting your trophy, I have shot many 200+ ponders, you drag him to your truck, load him, take him back to camp, and butcher your prize.
The camp life at Buck & Boar is outstanding. We have running water, electricity, skinning shed, walk in cooler, and a big double bath house.
Tiger Island Outfitters: Hogs are free running in a large fenced wooded area containing a swamp, and the prettiest oak hammock you have ever seen. The Tiger Island hogs are as wild as those at Buck & Boar. As at Buck & Boar, the smaller 40-75 pound hogs are much easier to harvest. To be successful,  the trophy sized 150+ pound boars, require much more skill.