Author Topic: Surf Fishing this season... advices for a newbie.  (Read 1626 times)

Offline Mikelodeon

• Full Member of the Den
Surf Fishing this season... advices for a newbie.
« on: March 06, 2011, 04:04:23 PM »
Hola everybody !!!

I have some experience in Saltwater from a pier, freshwater in Delaware, lakes and ponds (trout and Bass usually)... so I know some bout the hobby.
But never did Surf Fishing and I want to try this season.
First, I need to know about the right place: Interesed in Union Beach and Keansburg Beach, somebody knows about fees or if those places are available to fish? or may I ask for some permit to the town? I could fish in any beach? how I get the right info about it?

Second: The right tackle, besides my freshwater tackle I have my 7 foot and 8 foot saltwater, works great for flounder and blues actually but I have two 12' spinning rods, I use Okuma avenger spinning reels with 25 lbs, 40 and 44 lbs Berkeley and Tectan plus with 30 and 50 fluoro vanish as leader. I am planing to use my 12' for long casting and bottom fishing and my 7 foot rod for casting in the beach looking for fish.

A wader is necessary ? if so... what kind? the same is used for freshwater works?

Any other advices/recommendations in order to start Surf Fishing?

Willing to learn !!! I got my registration !!!

READY !!!!

thank you guys !

Offline ped579

• NJSF Field Reporter
  • Super Hero Member
  • Happiness is long casts, tight lines & bent rods
Re: Surf Fishing this season... advices for a newbie.
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2011, 10:09:55 AM »
Welcome Aboard Mikelodean,

It sounds like you are ready to hit the beach with the equipment you have.  My advice to you is to take your time and get to know different areas that are known producers in your area.  Then I would frequent a couple of good Bait & Tackle shops in those areas and ask questions.