Author Topic: Beginner looking for a little help  (Read 3050 times)

Offline Erockg13

Beginner looking for a little help
« on: May 25, 2012, 04:30:21 PM »
Hey there.   I'm kinda new to the saltwater fishing and I've been going fishing in different spots with little to no luck at all.  It's a little discouraging.   I've been to the belmar inlet fishing of the jetti for strippers and winter fluke.   Clam for the strippers and squid for the fluke.   Also been to barnegate light house and fished off of the inlet there as well as the surf with no luck either.   All times of day... All types of weather.   Is there any basic advice anyone can give so I might start reeling in so fish?   I've tried lots of Rigs , lures and jigs with no sucsess.  Plz any advice would be much apprieciated!!

Offline ChrisL

• Super Hero Member
    • Oak Lane Woodworks
Re: Beginner looking for a little help
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2012, 04:51:18 PM »
It takes time to get a feel for the how, when and where.  The most important thing is patience and persistence. 
Do a lot of reading and video watching on the topics of lure selection, fish behavior,tides, etc.  Keep an eye on reports online, tackle shops and The Fisherman.
There are some good books available, particularly from Zeno and the gang at Surfcasters Journal.
Especially helpful would be to get together with someone who has put in some time n the water.
Put in your time, be patient and keep trying.  Oh yeah....follow the KISS rule too.

Offline blynch

• Regulator 23FS "Say When"
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2012, 05:09:53 PM »
You aren't the first to make this mistake, and you surely won't be the last, but I have to correct you anyway, because that's what I do...

S-T-R-I-P-E-R-S ;D