Author Topic: fluke  (Read 2964 times)

Offline Quadruplecccc

fluke
« on: January 28, 2009, 08:50:02 PM »
I normally spook around the raritan bay and down the beach for fluke. Also venture out between the channels , 3mi. or so. How far out do most of you go and still find good numbers of fluke. Was just looking at my charts and was wondering about some spots farther ofshore than I normally go. It's fun to explore new spots but with limited time to get out there, I'm like most others and don't like a lengthy boat ride for nothing.  Any input ??

Offline IrishAyes

• Fishing At It's Finest
  • Admin
  • Super Hero Member
Re: fluke
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2009, 09:00:52 PM »
I have been fishing 6+ miles for fluke for many years. You will typically find that there are not as many fluke as close to the beach but the fluke you catch will mostly be keepers.  t^
Captain Joe of the Irish Ayes

May the holes in your net be no larger than the fish in it.  ~Irish Blessing

Offline Quadruplecccc

« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2009, 09:16:34 PM »
Does time of year matter?  Water is a little chilly yet early season, or am I thinking wrong?Did you ever find them even futher out or did you find what you were looking for there?

Offline IrishAyes

• Fishing At It's Finest
  • Admin
  • Super Hero Member
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2009, 09:23:45 PM »
I have tried some deeper spots, 10+ miles out, but can not say that I have had a lot of luck on the further out spots. But that could be because I just did not give it enought time to produce. I would fish the 10+ mile spots for a tournament trying to find that one huge fish, haven't done it yet though, find the huge fish, that is.  ;D

I will say, the past two/three years, the 6+ mile spots have been loaded with dog fish.  :'(
Captain Joe of the Irish Ayes

May the holes in your net be no larger than the fish in it.  ~Irish Blessing

Offline Quadruplecccc

« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2009, 09:41:19 PM »