Author Topic: Baitcasting Reel  (Read 2117 times)

Offline Pfishingruven

• P-Man
  • Super Hero Member
Baitcasting Reel
« on: August 02, 2008, 07:00:17 PM »
I am just full of questions today  ;)!

I am shopping for a baitcasting reel for freshwater.  I have NEVER used a baitcaster before.  I have always used a spinning reel.  Of course, I have used spincasting reels before and use the right hand retrieve.  I am right handed.  Should I get a right handed or left handed baitcaster??

Sounds like an easy answer, but what I am concerned about is that from always spinfishing, I always cast with my right hand and retrieve with my left hand.  Should I keep doing it that way or go to the right handed retrieve??

Also any suggestions on good beginner baitcaster reels.  I am not even sure I will like it or not?!?!

TIA!

TT^

Offline Reel Time

• Super Hero Member
Re: Baitcasting Reel
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2008, 06:33:13 AM »
 i cast and retrieve spinning reels the same way. i bought a left handed baitcaster and it is not the same. could not get used to it and felt extremely odd to reel in. i think it was because of the smaller handle radius on the baitcaster compared to the spinner, but cant say for sure.

might work out for you, but a nogo for me,,,

grab 1 in the store, slap it on a pole and reel it in for a little bit and see if you can tell like that. if not then buy it somewhere that will not give you a hassle on a return
All your tuna's are belong to me

Offline Pfishingruven

• P-Man
  • Super Hero Member
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2008, 09:41:26 AM »
Thanks for the input.  That is what I wasn't sure of. 

TT^

Offline mgm

« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2008, 11:58:43 AM »
Abu makes some decent LH baitcasters...I have a 4601 that I've had for over 15 years and has never failed me....I also use it for light saltwater.....my go to Striper and Blackfish reel is a Shimano Trinidad 401 TE