Author Topic: Blackfish rigs  (Read 23803 times)

Offline bpac

Blackfish rigs
« on: September 12, 2008, 10:25:29 AM »
Hello everyone. I am new to site as well as Blackfishing. I have been on about 6 charter trips. The mate usually ties the rigs for me as a single or tandem rig. I will be using a 7' rod XH with #40 Powerpro and about 20-25' of shock leader. I have been doing research on "No hardware rigs" so that I can tie my own rigs and would like to know if anyone would be able to provide me with their experiences pro's/con's on the following:

1-Tying a snelled hook to the bottom and a breakaway sinker on the dropper loop.

2-Attaching the hook to the dropper and the sinker on the bottom.

3-Distance from the bottom of the rig to the hook or sinker?

4-How to attach a second hook (slider) above a snelled hook on the bottom. I saw a post where it was said if the Blackfish misses or takes the first bait he will hit the second hook.(Diagram if possible, knots, and distances)

5-It has been told to me that I should not attach the hook to the dropper because it can break off. Is this true?

I appreciate any help you can provide

Offline Bucktail

• Just a Jig-alo
  • Admin
  • Super Hero Member
  • Have jigs. Will travel.
    • NJ Saltwater Fishing Tackle
Re: Blackfish rigs
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2008, 11:21:06 AM »
Welcome to the site BPAC! t^  Like you I enjoy blackfishing, but haven't had a chance to do a lot of it.  We have folks on here that really know their toggin'!  I'm sure they'll be posting soon with answers to your questions. ;D

-Bob

Offline mgm

« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2008, 11:27:33 AM »
There is a whole sticky topic on Blackfishing tackle, etc. in Tip, Tricks.......lots of info by some of the best blackfishermen in the state.

http://njsaltwaterfisherman.com/forums/index.php?topic=3711.0
" The press should be not only a collective propagandist and a collective agitator, but also a collective organizer of the masses. "

Offline gottog