Author Topic: Pilot - 6/5 Long Honkin Fluke Journey  (Read 2278 times)

Offline pilot2550

• Super Hero Member
  • Z'Obsession
Pilot - 6/5 Long Honkin Fluke Journey
« on: June 05, 2011, 09:42:56 PM »
Pushed off at 5:45 this morning to some stiff East/South East winds.  Crew included Capt Don Jr. the Clementi Brothers - Nickshaw and the Hoboken Hillbilly, Schutz  - the hot hand Hairy Man, and Steve O - never knew I was a newbie! Had a variety of bait: LBI Spearing  ;), Asian Tube squid  5hrug, Killies  :-*, Herring ;D, Gulp and some fresh iced bunk Courtesy of Reel Tight t^   Planned on poking outside to see conditions.  Rounded the tip to find some poor soul hung up hard on the sand.  No way he was getting that rig off without professional assistance. nosmly   Seas were very cranky.  We went tight to the beach to pick a few shorts and quickly made the decision to head back into the TC/Reach where we had reasonable action.  Put 3 in the box in over an hour with multiple releases on the shorts.   Required the power drift with both tide and wind working together. Steve O was taking private lessons from the back bay master on how to feel the bite and hook set.  He caught on real quick and by end of day you wouldn't know it was only his second time out fishing.  Schutz was on fire striking early and often while the brothers  were keeping tabs on how many swings, misses, fish to the boat yada yada each other had!!  These guys are relentless on one another. You have to get a kick out of sibling rivalry.  Thought our day was put to bed at about 9:45 when my braid get wrapped in the prop and spools about 75 yards as I have reverse power at 7000 RPM to counter the wind/current.  Hell of a way to start the day.  Managed to get the gaff on a dropper loop and began the slow process of retrieving line and clearing a reel mess. Once that was cleared we were rewarded with a brand new Popper that was floating by. Some anxious angler in their haste to try and hook breaking bluefish m