Author Topic: New to surf fishing and fishing in general, need some advise, PLEASE!  (Read 7396 times)

Offline Mustangous

Hey everyone!

I am new to fishing, but not to the water. Ive been in boating since the mid 80's but really never fished. Even though i have a boat, I want to start surf fishing with my father. We are going to the surf fishing tournament this sunday on IBSP and would like to put together a setup, but time is running out. I will probably use what he has for this weekend but i would like to get a decent setup for myself.

I already made a big mistake on a purchase and have to see if i can return it. I ordered a Shimano Spheros 18000fb and didnt realize its way too big and unrealistic for surf fishing.

I called a local place and they recommended a Tica 10'6" rod and a Penn Battle 6000. Now the reason i originally ordered the shimano spheros is because
I thought i did good research and hear that the penn's ssm arnt made like they were used to and to spend a few extra bucks on a shimano spheros. well I screwed up anyway!

My father's setups are:
outerbanks 11' rod and emcast 5500 reel
12' okuma rod reel combo, not sure what exactly.
he is picking up a 11' penn rod saturday to use with a emcast 6000 reel he had in a box.
He uses bait, think clams.

So I was thinking of a smaller shimano spheros, or a bait runner (which was recommend by a friend because he likes the switch for free spooling). I dont know so before I waste any more money I am looking for some opinions and suggestions for rod and reel setups from you experienced guys.

Another question, the penn reels, battle for example, has 6 ball bearings opposed to shimanos 3, is that something to consider?

Thanks in advance for any help, now going back to read more threads!  ;D
« Last Edit: October 02, 2012, 08:54:59 PM by Hotrod »

Offline PeggyLee

• Super Hero Member
Re: New to surf fishing and ffishing in general, need some advise, PLEASE!
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2012, 08:37:25 PM »