Author Topic: Need Help for Party Boat Stripers  (Read 1682 times)

Offline Jayrod99

• Full Member of the Den
Need Help for Party Boat Stripers
« on: November 11, 2007, 09:10:00 PM »
Hi All,

I am looking for some help for what I need for fishing for striper's from a party boat.  I am planning to go a couple times after work.  I have never done it before so I really have no idea.  What length of rod do I need?  What kind of line do I need?  I would think I need to use mono instead of braid because I am going on a party boat.  What kind of rigs do I need?  I would guess I don't need any jigs because I am going at night.  Thanks for the help.  I really appreciate it.

Offline Skolmann

• Super Hero Member
Re: Need Help for Party Boat Stripers
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2007, 07:56:18 AM »
If you're going after work, I'm going on the assumption that you'll be fishing at night. If thats the case you'll more than likely be eeling.

Only 1 party boat that I know of is fishing nightly and thats the Angle rout of Atlantic Highlands. You'll need a rod at least 7' and able to handle maybe up to 16 ounces of lead (more than likely however you'll be using anywhere from 6-10 ounces) since you could be fishing in the deeper channels were the currents run hard this time of year. Match the rod with a sturdy reel spooled with either #30 mono or braid (make sure you have at least a 15' topshot of mono on the braid). Braid will require you using less weight.

5/0 Gamakatsu Octopus hook snelled to a 36-48" piece of leader. Attach the leader to one eye of a 3-way swivel. To another eye of the swivel attach a piece of mono with a loop at the opposite end for your sinker and the last eye of the swivel goes to your main line.

If by chance you'll be fishing during the day, repost and we'll go from there.

Offline CapBob

• Super Hero Member
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2007, 08:00:27 AM »
Jay Rod,