Author Topic: Boating Rules  (Read 4128 times)

Offline ilyawizard

Boating Rules
« on: July 30, 2008, 02:40:42 PM »
Hello everyone here,

I'm a real newbie here and boating rules. I read couple of posts here and other forums but still confused. I bought an old used boat with 140HP engine (about 20' long). My first question is where I can use it (lakes, offshore?). And my second question is what do I need to operate it. I know I need Boating Safety Certificate and license for non-tidal waters. But what about going offshore? What documents and/or certificates I need for that? Can I even go to the open ocean on that boat?

Any information, direction, links would be much appreciated,

Thanks,
Ilya

Offline Luna Sea 5

• Admin
  • Super Hero Member
  • Nick (Luna Sea 5)
    • My Facebook Profile
Re: Boating Rules
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2008, 02:45:58 PM »
You can go anywhere with it.. First, take your safty course.  Then, use the boat with someone who knows what they are doing.  Go out with them a few times to learn the ropes.  Once you feel comfortable, then go on your own.  All you need is your certificate and your good to go.  You will know what to bring on the boat as far as safty things, life vests, etc.. when you in the class
Fish out of Toms River NJ.
Call Nick for open boat, 973-417-5756, or on Channel 68.

Team Luna Sea 6

Offline Luna Sea 5

• Admin
  • Super Hero Member
  • Nick (Luna Sea 5)
    • My Facebook Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2008, 02:46:37 PM »
and I almost forgot.. WELCOME to the site.. we will help guide you in the right direction

Team Luna Sea 6

Offline Still Running

• AKA-Rick(Dieselhp)
  • Admin
  • Super Hero Member
    • truck parts
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2008, 02:52:15 PM »
 whs and welcome
Fishing Sandy Hook and anywhere I can get on a boat.

My biggest fear is when I die my wife sells all of my fishing tackle for what she thinks I paid for it!
Www.HNCTruckParts.com

Offline ilyawizard

« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2008, 02:57:34 PM »