Author Topic: Pennsylvaia resident using baot in NJ  (Read 2983 times)

Offline kutztownwayne

• 2012 trophy 220
Pennsylvaia resident using baot in NJ
« on: March 08, 2011, 11:03:23 AM »
I have read so many conflicting stories about this topic and I sent an email to NJ officials and have not heard back so I thought  I would run it by you all for your feedback.

I am a PA resident who will have seasonal campsite all year in NJ.  My boat is registered in PA, I took PA's official boater safety course which can be taken on-line and passed it.  have the certificate and card for that.  This course meets national standards.

Will this be sufficient to operate on NJ bay waters? 

I fall under the period  of being in the state to require NJ certification according to the way i read the guidelines.  Any opinions??
Early to bed…early to rise…fish all day…make up lies.

To fish is human,

to throw back is divine.

Offline CapBob

• Super Hero Member
Re: Pennsylvaia resident using baot in NJ
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2011, 11:06:52 AM »
THis is from the NJ State Police Web Site:

Q1
 Do I need a boat safety certificate?

A1
 Yes, if you are operating a personal watercraft (Jet Ski, Wave Runner, etc.), or a power vessel on the waters of the State of New Jersey you are required to possess a New Jersey boat safety certificate.

Exemptions:
A boat safety certificate is not required for non-powered vessels.

Q2
 I live in another state, do I need a boat safety certificate?

A2