Author Topic: Outdrive Metal?  (Read 4259 times)

Offline fellinger

• Super Hero Member
    • SafeTec Training Services
Outdrive Metal?
« on: December 18, 2011, 07:15:32 PM »
I winterized the boat a week or so ago (I hope I did it right  :-\ When I changed the outdrive fluid I noticed that there (A) did not seem to be very much of it and be it was a yellow'ish color. It was not milky nor was there obvious water in it. It did seem to be of adequate viscosity. On the drain magnet there was some fine metal shavings.

As I am new to owning an I/O I don't know what normal findings are. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Fred

Fred, fishing the "Kristy Marie" from Manasquan River Club. Channels 16/67/68.

Offline NJ Guy

• AKA "Virgina Beach Guy"
  • Super Hero Member
Re: Outdrive Metal?
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2011, 07:39:18 PM »
how much metal shavings?
270 AmberJack "Sweet Emocean"

Offline fellinger

• Super Hero Member
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2011, 07:48:10 PM »
It's hard to say.... They were very, very thin shavings (microns thick?). None were chunks or real thick.

Fred

Offline Offshore Madness

• Super Hero Member
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2011, 08:49:10 PM »
Our old Grady had a stern drive.When we drained the fluid there was always very very very fine blackish shavings in their. Normal to see.Even my old boat have some to. I would look more in to the low oil issue.Either a seal or some one didn't fill it up all the way
Why does it Matter to you? cause I could careless.........

Offline NJ Guy

• AKA "Virgina Beach Guy"
  • Super Hero Member
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2011, 09:14:14 PM »
Our old Grady had a stern drive.When we drained the fluid there was always very very very fine blackish shavings in their. Normal to see.Even my old boat have some to. I would look more in to the low oil issue.Either a seal or some one didn't fill it up all the way