Author Topic: Captain's License  (Read 11288 times)

Offline Capt. Ed

Captain's License
« on: February 03, 2007, 12:15:52 PM »
Hi All,

If anyone is considering pursuing their Captain's License, please feel free to contact me with any questions you may have!

Have fun,

Capt. Ed

Offline catfish hunter

• Super Hero Member
Re: Captain's License
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2007, 01:46:10 PM »
how hard is it to obtain ,I have been tossing around the idea for about a while ,can you give me some basic direction,thanks in advance

Offline Capt. Ed

« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2007, 02:14:05 PM »
Hi Catfish Hunter,

I highly recommend that if you decide to get a license, go take one of the courses from 3Bs Captain's Schools (http://captainsschool.com/) - I attended this one, Mariners School (http://www.marinersschool.com/) - I am considering this one for continued education or the like. It is well worth the investment.

I studied a lot before the course. I read books like Chapman Piloting. The trickiest part of the test to most is the Rules of the Road but some may argue that it is Navigation.

The hardest part I had was getting together all my documentation for sea time.

I went and got the license because I smelled the state starting to require safety courses and the like badck in 1999. It took them a while, but they finally got there (LOL).

I love boating so the knowledge I gained was worth the time, whether I got the license or not.

Feel free to fire away with questions ...

Have fun,

Capt. Ed

Offline catfish hunter

• Super Hero Member
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2007, 04:02:56 PM »
thanks ,I will have to pick up some books ,and start reading ,worst case is I might learn something

Offline CapBob

• Super Hero Member
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2007, 06:51:35 PM »